Find Local Wedding Vendors

Discover and connect with wedding vendors that share your taste and your budget. With trusted reviews, you can rest easy that your wedding day will be as beautiful as you envisioned.

Cakes in Norfolk, VA,
(757) 625-1000
Overall Rating
3.3 out of 5
Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • 12 Reviews


    Sam

    reviews
    5 out of 5
    Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • My husband and I were fortunate enough to have Just Cupcakes make not only a delicious cake but also cupcakes for our wedding! We knew that we wanted to have a smaller and more modest cake with a variety of cupcakes for our guests to enjoy! Carla, the woman at the helm of this amazing operation, is extremely gifted and a joy to work with and just have a conversation with as well! All of our expectations for our wedding were exceeded and we couldn’t be more grateful for Just Cupcakes helping make our wedding day one for the books! We will certainly be “regulars” and can’t wait for all of the treats we will enjoy for years to come! Whether you live in the Hampton Roads area or are just in town for a visit, you have got to stop by and have a sweet treat! Their location at Town Center is very convenient and easy to access. Thank you to Carla and the entire Just Cupcakes team!!

    Melissa

    reviews
    5 out of 5
    Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • Carla went above and beyond for us in regards to our wedding cupcakes. By the end of the night we had no cupcakes left. They were delicious. My favorite treat is Snickers and she specially made our top tier cake a snickers cake. It was so good we didn't keep it for our one year anniversary, we have eaten it all. If you are looking for a cake or cupcakes Carla is great.

    DENIELLE

    reviews
    5 out of 5
    Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • Carla was great and very helpful. Our cake/cupcake display looked amazing and were delicious!

    Stacy

    reviews
    5 out of 5
    Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • Just Cupcakes did a wonderful job for my wedding Cupcakes. The stand Carla created was perfect for my venue and the cupcakes were SO delicious!! It's a good thing we ordered so many because people kept going back for more! I would recommend Carla and Just Cupcakes to anyone looking for cupcakes in the Hampton Roads area!

    Kristina

    reviews
    0.8 out of 5
    Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • I was very disappointed with my experience. I scheduled a cake tasting, which took a long time for them to respond to emails to get set up. I started emailing her in February and did not get something scheduled until the end of March. When I came for the cake tasting the girl behind the counter told me that there weren't many flavors left over from the day and that we were just gonna have to try what was left. I understand keeping up with business, but knowing there was a wedding cake tasting coming in (which I scheduled almost a week in a half in advanced). Then the girl behind the counter was the only person there. So I had to share my cake tasting experience with all of the other customers that walked in through the door. I would get about 3 minutes with the girl, and then wait 5-10 mins for her to come back to us. The cake was not very good either. It was crumbling and didn't have a whole lot of flavor. After all said and done, I was told a quote was going to be emailed to me in ab... Read more

    JaLeesa

    reviews
    2.2 out of 5
    Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • I was hoping to have their cupcakes for my wedding reception. I went to a tasting and what I tried taste amazing. Trying to follow up with them was a complete nightmare since trying to reach by email and multiple calls did not work. At first the invoice was listed as myself and my friend that came to the tasting with me not my fiancé. Once that finally got corrected I made numerous attempts to get a final cost for my invoice. As time kept getting closer to the wedding day I made the decision to not go through with using them for my wedding day. If they really wanted my business and money that could at least be more prompt in returning calls and emails.

    User4008718

    reviews
    3.4 out of 5
    Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • My sibling ordered my wedding cake for me dealing with both locations, Hilltop & Town Ctr. 1. QUALITY of SERVICE: Customer service definitely needed improvement at Town Center. We informed the owner/baker of this and she informed us she would retrain the staff at that location. On the big day: no delivery service but had a flexible pick-up time. Transport was a bit difficult as the cake was given to us in a thin cake box with wrap on the top (not durable). 2. RESPONSIVENESS: We placed our order 5 days prior to the event, did not receive confirmation until the day prior to the event. 3. PROFESSIONALISM: Carla, the baker/owner, was prompt w/ her response regarding the customer service complaint. Our order was fulfilled on time and as we specified with flavors and design. 4. VALUE: I do not know the actual cost of the cake since it was given as a wedding present. I instead would like to comment on the aesthetics and taste. The decoration & design of the cake met my expecta... Read more

    User3702012

    reviews
    1.6 out of 5
    Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • They are slow in getting back to you (phone or email). Tried to give us the wrong order. When we finally received our order, it was the "rough draph" flavors and didn't look like planned. I could have probably done a better job on the design. The sugar glass on the cupcake was white clumped sugar, not clear, sharp glass-looking substance. and because they messed up on the flavors, they just gave us the red velvet out of the store, which had a completely different look then the bloody (dexter themed) cupcakes we had. To just stop by for a random cupcake, go for it. To make an event order, don't do it. The cupcakes were the only thing I regretted from my wedding.

    User3647183

    reviews
    2 out of 5
    Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • There were only two good things about Just Cupcakes - the cupcake flavors and the fact that I got a discount for having a Halloween wedding. Carla had a really bad response time to the point were we almost didn't get the cupcakes and the only reason we went with them was because of the discount she put on it. We told them a few weeks before the wedding that we wanted Red Velvet and Chocolate as our flavors and instead, they tried to give us someone else's order then when they had our order, it was wrong. They used the "rough draft" flavors, not the finally flavors, so they had to give us the 10 red velvet they had in the store (not decorated for our wedding). and the design wasn't even close to as good as I wanted it. I should have gone with my gut and not gotten the cupcakes. And we told them we would pick the cupcakes up at 11am and they agreed, instead of telling us they didn't open on Halloween until 1pm. I would not recommend them for anything except a random visit for a in-store ... Read more

    responded with the following comments.

    First and foremost we are very sorry that you were disappointed as we hope every bride is happy. We certainly do not send a rough draft to clients and do go by the contract. If the contract was wrong I do wish you would have brought it to our attention. We offered every red velvet we had (In house) at not charge when it was mentioned that they really wanted red velvet. No questions asked. Also, the design was in the spirit of what was asked. We certainly cannot completely copy another bakery's work as that is copyright protected. Also, photos online or on Pinterest are sometimes enhanced and are difficult to recreate and/or impractical for a real event. Certainly we are at fault for not explaining that during the consultations. Today when you sent a message I expressed how sorry we we were that she was disappointed and asked if there was anything that we could do at this point. You did threaten with bad reviews and that's certainly your choice but in fairness we tried to work with you to resolve.

    Brooke

    reviews
    2.7 out of 5
    Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • The cupcakes were unbeatable! However, the sales team lost my credit card information, took weeks to charge my card, slow to reply and late delivery. The cupcakes were good though!

    Cheryl

    reviews
    4.7 out of 5
    Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • My mother-in-law took charge of the cake/cupcakes for our wedding and she decided to use Just Cupcakes. We had three different flavors of cupcake and all were delicious. We also had a small cake on top for us to cut as our wedding cake. It worked out great. Everyone really liked having different desert options. My mother-in-law stated that they were good to work with, although maybe could have been a bit more responsive to her questions. Other than that, we were very pleased with Just Cupcakes.

    Linda

    reviews
    2.4 out of 5
    Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • I was not very pleased with the responsiveness and quality of service I received from Just Cupcakes, including Carla and Jennifer. I would email them and sometimes wouldn't get a response for weeks or no response at all. I live out of town and scheduled an appointment to meet with Carla, when I got the shop it seemed like no one even knew why I was there and Carla was no where to be found until Jennifer called her to remind her of our meeting. I had to go over the details for what I wanted multiple times, they seemed very disorganized. I understand everyone gets sick or has family emergencies, but it seemed like every time I needed a response from them there was an issue. I did keep my contract with Just Cupcakes because their actually product, the cupcakes, were delicious. Everyone enjoyed the mini cupcakes that we ordered from them. Overall, if their cupcakes didn't taste great I totally would have gone with another vendor. I doubt I will recommend them to other brides because I'm su... Read more

    responded with the following comments.

    Linda, Our sincerest apologies if you were unhappy with our services. I have emailed you directly to apologize, as this is the first time you expressed that you were unhappy. I have gone through all of the correspondence between us and the coordinator and feel it was completed in a timely manner, except for once. Certainly if you were this unhappy with our services we would have terminated your contract and given your deposit back. We certainly take all compliments and criticism seriously and again am sincerely sorry that this was your experience. We are constantly reviewing our internal procedures to not only provide the best cupcakes but also service and communication to our customer friends and appreciate your feedback.

    Find Amazing Vendors
    render_sticky_availability_button