Find Local Wedding Vendors

Discover and connect with wedding vendors that share your taste and your budget. With trusted reviews, you can rest easy that your wedding day will be as beautiful as you envisioned.

Catering in Chesapeake, VA,
(757) 499-2002
Overall Rating
4.7 out of 5
Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • 126 Reviews


    Rose

    reviews
    4.8 out of 5
    Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • We did only get to do our tasting but really enjoyed all of the options provided for us. We also love their fun dessert choices - it's so hard to find caterers who do ice cream sundae bars and floats!

    Yavuz

    reviews
    4.8 out of 5
    Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • Our venue provided a list of caterers for us to choose from; Creative Catering was the first on the list and we were instantly impressed. We requested a sample menu, and they surprised us by providing one that fit our travel theme perfectly (without us mentioning the theme — serendipity I suppose — we were particularly impressed by the chicken turnovers with the mango lassi dipping sauce). The food at our taste testing was absolutely phenomenal as well. We bought our own alcohol, but they provided a recommended guide for how much alcohol to provide, which worked out almost perfectly for us. There did seem to be some staff turnover throughout the process, which was a little bit concerning leading up to the event; however, Karen K. took over at the end and absolutely hit it out of the park, along with the chefs and staff support. They made our custom drink exactly how we wanted it, service was great, the buffet was laid out very nicely with tablecloth that matched our colors pe... Read more

    Joshua Godwin

    reviews
    1 out of 5
    Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • Michele took a $1,000 down deposit for a wedding that was supposed to take place in May. Due to recent events we had to cancel the wedding. Upon trying to contact this morally corrupt business to get the refund back, they do not answer (and no, your auto-reply email does not count). We have tried calling numerous times, and have sent plenty of emails, all with no reply. Looking forward to seeing how they will justify stealing $1,000 during a pandemic from people. Michele, all I ask is for you to do the right thing and return the money. There is no possible way that a you can willingly steal someones money and be able to sleep sound at night. Thankfully I did not pay the full 6 thousand dollars, that would have been hell trying to get that back.

    responded with the following comments.

    Dear Joshua & Courtney, 4/22/2020 It has certainly been an unimaginable almost six weeks now for all of us I'm sure. Obviously, the food services and event industry has been on the front line of lost business and feeling the economic impact more severely than most. Steadily since March 10, 2020, we have been busy working with our booked events both at our building venues - our "in house" events - and also the events and catering contracts we had at other venues, museum’s, state properties, private locations, Veteran’s Untied Home Loans Amphitheater, Hampton Coliseum, etc. to find the right course of action for each. Of all the events we had contracted between March 10, 2020, through June 10, 2020, all but five or six are rescheduled either for next year, or later this year, and this has been in response to our follow up, opening up all available dates as options, and the updated FAQ’s regarding our current and revised contracts and event agreements. Understanding the magnitude of this situation, we have re-written these to help all those clients not have to completely lose their non refundable deposits and payments, but instead be able to reschedule their original event or even transfer those funds to a new event with in one year of the original event date. From the email exchanges we had last week, I know that for you both, there seem to be difficulties with planning or rescheduling your wedding. I hope everything is ok. On March 12, 2020, Governor Northam declared a State of Emergency in the Commonwealth due to the statewide spread of COVID-19. Leaving many of us asking for guidance on how to navigate this public health crisis as we work to keep our families both healthy and financially stable. As you are probably aware, on March 18, 2020, Governor Ralph Northam requested that the Administrator of the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) implement a Small Business Administration declaration to provide assistance in the form of SBA Economic Injury Disaster Loans for the counties and cities in the Commonwealth of Virginia affected by the COVID-19 pandemic. The City of Chesapeake is listed as one of the cities within the request. On March 30, 2020, Virginia was issued a Stay at Home order, and that directive is now dated to be in place until June 10, 2020. Of course, in the past few days, many more updates in the form of state orders have been shared, while federal disaster relief options, etc. have been introduced only to already be unavailable. The uncertainty of how to best proceed only seems to get more confusing than clear some of these days. What we did know almost immediately, was that based on the staggering amount of accounts receivable we will no longer be able to, or are even seeking to, collect or bring into the business over these time frames, our current best course of action to keep our company solvent is to not remove any on-hand funds or issue any refunds. The reason for our decision is entirely based on our business effectively being “closed” or “shut down” due to the elimination of current and contracted sales / revenue through a currently impossible to determine and extended length of time. The events that have caused the immediate loss of sales / revenue are a direct result of the COVID-19 pandemic and Governor Northam’s state of emergency that impacted all public gatherings and large events. The state and local government, utilities, lease holders, lenders, etc. have all implemented mostly deferment, waiving of tax collection to later dates, postponing interest payments, holding off late fees etc. all in this effort. This allows us to hopefully continue to exist as a business, while working to keep our management, sales consultants, chefs, and hourly workers poised to return from their lay off’s hopefully sooner than later to a company ready to take care of our guest, restock the shelves, and remain a thriving local small business. I am so, so sorry that you are unable to reschedule your wedding and reception. I am saddened by that, as I’m sure you and your friends and families are as well. Again for some, it would be easy to say that our contracts outline what monies are or are not refundable – specifically nonrefundable deposits - but my hope is that each one of our guest have an opportunity to apply those funds, no matter how far out the new event date may be. For you (both), I am offering to extend your event’s rescheduling window to 18 months. If this is not an option for you directly, but if you would like to transfer your payment(s) to somebody else for any catering services or venue rental we want to offer that for you as well. Please know that my desire would be that there could be future celebration that we could be a part of! Our prayer every day is for faith and wisdom. Wisdom to navigate a situation that at times over the past month and a half has changed by the day and even the hour, and prayers for our team - an incredible group of people that work with us that are being devastated by our business having to implement emergency economic disaster measures like layoffs and suspension of services, etc. We have faith that a business that was fully booked and growing, hiring, training, developing new menus, reinvesting it itself, and serving hundreds and even thousands of people in any given week only 6 weeks ago!!! ...will rebound, will somehow navigate through, and will make it to the other side of this. Sincerely, James “Rev” Guill Southside Food Solutions, LLC Owner / Member

    Erin O'Neill

    reviews
    5 out of 5
    Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • The first thing that helped me make Creative Catering our wedding choice was the fact that they are extremely communicative. Any questions I had were quickly answered. The food itself was fabulous and the bar staff was amazing! They quickly adapted to any last minute changes that we had and provided an amazing experience for us and our guest. I would highly recommend!

    Stephanie

    reviews
    5 out of 5
    Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • Booking a caterer was one of the most daunting tasks of our wedding planning process until the moment I spoke to Karen from CCoV. She answered any and all questions that we had throughout the entire process, no matter how annoying the questions were. She made sure to go over everything with us with a fine tooth comb. She also made special accommodations for our guests with food allergies such as putting cheese on the side of all of the salads and making sure our vegan guests food was not compromised by any animal products. Not to mention that the food was cooked absolutely perfect!!! We had a special request for our steak dish to be cooked medium rare and not a single one was over cooked, which is a really hard thing to achieve when cooking in mass quantities. I HIGHLY recommend giving them a call and booking them! Thank you again for all of your hard work and making sure that our day was beautiful and tasty :)

    Marian Bock

    reviews
    5 out of 5
    Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • Creative Catering of Virginia provided the catering for my daughter’s wedding, and we are so happy that we chose them! From the first meeting with Karen, our CCVA contact, we began the wonderful experience of exploring all the different packages and menu selections that they offered. Karen was super organized and professional, and was very helpful in understanding our vision to find the perfect selections that we wanted, including vegan meals for our guests. The tasting was so elegant and so much fun, we felt like we were in a 5-star restaurant! Along the way, my daughter and Karen were frequently in contact to finalize every little detail. Any special request that we had was answered with “yes, we can do that!” The time for the wedding arrived, and everything was perfect! Delicious appetizers were served and the bartenders attended to the guests with friendly and pleasant smiles. The dinner of beef tenderloin and teriyaki salmon was absolutely delicious! We highly rec... Read more

    Molly Alpizar

    reviews
    5 out of 5
    Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • Creative Catering staff were so incredibly professional and kind to all of my guests. It was an absolute pleasure working with them, and the food was amazing!

    Karen

    reviews
    5 out of 5
    Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • The food was very good and the staff was very very accommodating to everyones needs. They really spoiled us!

    responded with the following comments.

    Thank you so much and Congratulations again! We enjoyed being a part of your special day, and we appreciate your kind words. All the best, The Entire Creative Catering TEAM

    Elizabeth

    reviews
    5 out of 5
    Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • If you are a newly engaged couple and feeling overwhelmed, please call Karen at Creative Catering of Virginia as she was really impressive and made sure that the planning for food and beverages at our wedding was as smooth as it could be!! We used Creative Catering of Virginia for our wedding catering and bartending in October. We had gone to several tastings and events in order to find the perfect option for us. Karen at Creative Catering was by far the most professional and helpful person we met along the way! Not only did she help us design the perfect menu for our budget, she also helped with other things too. For example, she was able to give us our napkins ahead of time with the sparkly ring holders that we bought for the event. During the wedding, the staff of creative catering were extremely helpful! They butlered apps at cocktail hour and they made sure to visit us, the bride and groom, when we were posing for family portraits. They helped in every way they could. They helped ... Read more

    Kimber

    reviews
    5 out of 5
    Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • We just got married June 8, 2018. What an awesome company with which to work. From our initial contact in November, 2017 to the conclusion of our wedding reception, CC of VA was wonderful! The food was delicious and so much so, our guests didn't even leave us anything to take home. LOL Karen Kidd was wonderful to work with and even reached out to me after the wedding to find out how everything went.

    Karyn

    reviews
    5 out of 5
    Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • I highly recommend this catering company. The food was amazing we had many people compliment us. The best part was the bar tender, he WAS AMAZING. We had 135 guests and he was killing it! Many people also mentioned to me how great and attentive he was. This company is definitely top notch, you will not be disappointed!

    Christina

    reviews
    5 out of 5
    Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • First and foremost the food and service were excellent. We went through 3 different sales managers but ended up working with Jennifer and she was amazing. We booked with Alyssa who has since moved on but was so incredibly accommodating to my very specific requests. I work in catering sales so I was clear about what I wanted and what I didn't but I was also working within a budget which doesn't always allow for creativity. Lucky for me Alyssa and then Jennifer were excellent. The team handled the beer, wine, and champagne that we provided as well as maintaining all of the desserts we provided. On the day of we had Cindy leading the team and she was so kind and efficient. There was a teeny tiny minor bump with our pre-ceremony champagne (hey, it's a celebration!) but she quickly got it poured once I arrived and everyone had some. A great experience and a great value. Highly recommend!

    Stephanie Hedge

    reviews
    2 out of 5
    Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • In the first hour and a half we were out of all beers and in the 2 hour we were out of bourbon and vodka. This was a 5 hour reception we paid extra for 2 bartenders and only 1 was serving the first half hour which is crucial at a wedding with 130+ guests. We were told the manager was working on getting more beer but it never came. I don't believe there was any attempt to go and purchase beer. A couple of cases at the grocery store may have helped.

    Kimberly

    reviews
    4.7 out of 5
    Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • Great vendor. Both myself and my groom are vegetarian and this vendor took much time to prepare a custom menu for our wedding to meet our no meat needs.

    wedding123

    reviews
    4.4 out of 5
    Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • I enjoyed working with creative catering leading up to the wedding, and doing tastings because their food was really good. Not everything was what it seemed in the end though. There were a few minuscule things that I would change, as far as making sure everything was exactly where I wanted it for the reception. When comparing the food from the tasting to the wedding day, it was different. We requested the meat to be cooked well-done but it wasn't the case. We did not get many compliments from our guests about the food. We paid extra for a whole cheeses display, which we were hoping we could take after the wedding as well as left over food but it was not the case. They divided some of the leftover food to other vendors instead of us. They just need to make sure of small details.
    1 2 3 9

    Find Amazing Vendors
    render_sticky_availability_button