Find Local Wedding Vendors

Discover and connect with wedding vendors that share your taste and your budget. With trusted reviews, you can rest easy that your wedding day will be as beautiful as you envisioned.

Beauty & Health in Madison, WI,
(608) 721-1717
Overall Rating
4.1 out of 5
Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • 41 Reviews


    Liza Rick

    reviews
    1.8 out of 5
    Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • Save yourself the headache and do NOT book with Brideheads. I was excited to work with them after seeing many positive reviews on The Knot and Wedding Wire but this experience was incredibly stressful and awful. The services they provide are OK but working with the company owner, Angie, is a literal nightmare. She does not stay on top of scheduling hair trials, nor does she communicate contract deadlines - or even communicate in general. It was incredibly difficult to get in contact with her and at times my calls/texts/emails would go a week or more without a response. She is more than unprofessional, completely unresponsive and full of excuses for why she couldn't get back to you sooner. SAVE YOURSELF THE HEADACHE AND BOOK ELSEWHERE

    responded with the following comments.

    This review is ridiculous and unfair. I told Liza in a May email when contracts are due, so that is false saying I didnt communicate that. Her original stylist became unexpectedly pregnant (geriatric pregnancy) and on bed rest , out for the season. I did t cancel, I simply booked another stylist. We couldnt work out when we could do a trial because of logistics. Wisconsin dells wedding but first stylist was from Sparta, replacement stylist was fondulac. Both close to the dells where the wedding occurred. She has internationally published work. Extremely qualified reliable person. I personally gave Liza a FREE trial ($85) so she would have a plan in my Madison salon since we couldnt work out anything else for her. She didn’t even tip me for that. Brideheads is not my full time job. I own a large salon I also manage, an event bus, and air bnb. I cannot be at someone’s beck and call let alone many many brides beck and call. I encourage email or text Or chat to communicate as I can’t leave a client during a Brazilian wax or hair trial to answer quick questions. It’s rude and unprofessional. Would you want me to do that to you during your trial? Our website however is fully equipped with all the answers. A beautiful video lovingly constructed graces our hone page to walk you through the entire process. NEW THIS YEAR! We have a chat bot feature on our Facebook page. Ask about pricing, date availability, even request your desired trial date right there! Super Convenient. If there’s a question it doesn’t know you can request a human and I can jump in to answer too. 99% of our stylists are contractors and do not work in my salon. They have day jobs to schedule trials around. I also express in the contract and in frequently asked questions that trials are booked in the order the weddings occur. That way there is still availability for last minute brides too that also desperately need us. I started communication on scheduling a trial very early in, knowing it would be a logistics challenge. I am booked in my salon from early until late Monday through Friday. I do weddings on Saturdays I unplug after weddings on Saturday when we finish and on Sundays, my only day off assuming there isn’t a Sunday wedding. I also don’t return emails sent super late whenever possible. I need to maintain my own sanity. If a wedding is out of town it can easily be an 8 hour day fir one wedding. This can be very physically draining as we take on the stress fir you so you don’t experience it. I am a human being, not a wedding planner or cyborg robot of sorts. We don’t hide pricing, contracts or anything on our website but are super transparent and spell everything out for you. You just have to actually read it. We have been in business a very long time (12 years) and have the skill and expertise to get your hair and makeup done right, with staying power, on time. Someday I dream of being a digital nomad, solely running Brideheads full time while traveling in a Skokie! But unfortunately that is unable to happen any time soon. I am not the only human with several jobs and income streams in these trying economic times. Do not let this review sway your decision to book us. Unfortunately happy brides don’t leave reviews often. I will seek some out to add to our 2019 collection so you can see that we in fact do a great job and make people happy. Liza is a rare exception and I tried my very best, as always.

    Bre Waldron

    reviews
    2.4 out of 5
    Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • So first, the woman I was emailing back and forth, to me, came off very rude and unprofessional. I for one had to email them to see if they received my down payment because I never heard from them. Then 3 weeks before my wedding, I emailed them to confirm things and see if they had any questions because they never emailed me, so they replied with questions and I emailed right away with a response. A week went by, didnt get a response, so I had to email them again to see if they got my email, and the lady just came off very rude. I'm sorry, but the bride, who has a billion other things to do, should not have to repeatedly reach out to a company. But hey, thats just my opinion. Second, I dont understand the point of a down payment, and then before I get the service I had a bill for everyones hair. Third, the hair was 100% not worth it. Two of my bridesmaids werent fans of their hair, one ended up redoing it, and I ended up taking my hair out the second the woman left and having to do... Read more

    Kathy

    reviews
    5 out of 5
    Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • The two ladies that were sent to do our hair and makeup were awesome! They made us feel like movie stars for our day and did a wonderful job with hair and makeup! They were very friendly and professional. They definitely knew what they were doing. We couldn't have been happier with the results. Thank you so so much!!

    Kelsey

    reviews
    5 out of 5
    Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • Angie and her girls came to our location on time and were efficient in getting us all done earlier than we planned. They made the morning more relaxed and fun and were able to complete each look that each girl was hoping for! Very pleased with their work!

    Amy

    reviews
    5 out of 5
    Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • Jamie was amazing! He did my wedding hair, my daughter's hair and my makeup. I looked exactly like I hoped! Thank you!!

    User4871728

    reviews
    5 out of 5
    Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • Angie and another stylist came to our hotel to help me get my hair/makeup done and my 3 bridesmaids get their hair done as well. They were on time and very professional. My makeup and lashes stayed on all day and night (had an outside ceremony in the heat), as did my hair. It looked gorgeous and I don't think it moved out of place at all, even with getting a little rowdy on the dance floor. My bridesmaids hair were so gorgeous, too. One had an updo and one had her hair all down. Their hair lasted all night, as well. Very happy with their services!

    Jennifer

    reviews
    5 out of 5
    Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • They did a fantastic job. both my maid of honor and I wanted to look like we weren't overly made up and they listened to what we wanted and did a great job ensuring our hair and make up was understated

    Kimberly

    reviews
    5 out of 5
    Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • Amazing! I had Hannah as my hair and makeup stylist and she is such an amazing person. She has great ideas and listened to mine as well. She came right to the cabin I was getting married at and did everything right there. It was like starting the day getting ready with one of my girlfriends! Starting the day off with Hannah was the perfect way to kick off my big day!!! Would 110% recommend!!!

    Lisa

    reviews
    0.5 out of 5
    Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • Stay away from Brideheads. We will never know if Angie can do hair as we cancelled after Angie would never schedule a trial after taking our $150 from the Save the Date Contract. Horrible customer service! We signed the Save the Date contract in early June and by the end of August after sending emails and emails to Angie, she would never even schedule a trial hairdo. We weren’t asking for the actual appt to happen yet, just asking for it to be scheduled, so it would be one last thing to worry about. Most emails to Angie went unanswered or she replied that she simply cannot schedule a trial for an October wedding when she hasn’t even scheduled the trials for the August and September weddings yet! When I cancelled the contract (she wouldn’t even return the money) she stated, “I’m not ignoring you, I’m just busy!” This company is run by an unprofessional and completely rude woma

    responded with the following comments.

    I'm very sorry that Lisa was so unhappy with us. Sometimes brides make rash decisions right before the wedding and this was the case here. I am the owner, and the booking concierge. So I was not going to do the services myself. I do a large number of weddings every year, but of course I can't be at all of them myself. In the next few years I'll be stepping back from performing services as well since it means I've had no weekends free for the past 11 years, yikes. I was scheduling another team to do Lisa's wedding. We are a very unique company since we can do up to 7 weddings on any given Saturday. We utilize large teams of stylists and makeup artists located all over the state so we are able to split up and all go our separate ways. It clearly says on our contracts that if you cancel services with us, you won't get your deposit back. That is a standard practice to have a non refundable deposit. Most hair/makeup services charge half the amount of services as deposit and you'd lose that whole amount upon cancelling. I do my very best to make everyone happy, but I'm also a human being not a robot, although sometimes I wonder if I'm part cyborg with the crazy hours I put in, and all the things I manage to accomplish. In 2018 we moved the salon into a brand new location. The renovations and move occurred during this time Lisa wanted her trial scheduled. Needless to say I was juggling a lot. Yes I do need to schedule trials in the order the weddings occur. This is also stated in our simple contracts. Again, just trying to please everyone, and be fair to everyone. Sometimes you can't please everyone, even though I really do try. Quite often I get 20 emails in one day. I think I've replied to all of them, but I actually have missed someone, not meaning to ever do so. If I missed your email, then just call me, try another means. Do you know what I had to go through to keep my plumber on task? There has not been an integrated website available for running a business like mine until recently. Although it's geared towards photographers, not on location hair and makeup vendors it helps you keep up with a demanding business like mine, actually letting you know when you've forgotten to reply to an email, or giving you one place to put your to dos instead of just doing your best to keep up. I utilize virtual assistants to run things as well. I also run my own large salon, as well as having a staff of employees and contractors to look after. I also work behind the chair as a stylist with my own clientele. I can't dedicate every waking moment to Brideheads, but I do my very best to. My brides come first always, just ask my collection of failed relationships. Lol, it's not easy to date a workaholic like me. I'm hoping to add an assistant to lighten my load this year. It's not a position I would take lightly to fill. If there's a mistake made, I'd rather be the one to make it, then go through trial and error with a new employee. I've had ones in the past that made a big mess of things, and Brideheads is my baby. We are doing our very best to keep up with our ever growing demand. Our team of hair and makeup artists are truly amazing talented professionals. Truly I'm so humbled to have such an amazing team to work with. I can assure you if you book us, you will not be let down. We know all the venues inside and out, we know all the tricks to make your hair/makeup last all day, and we know how to make your getting ready run so smoothly you don't feel stressed at all, and you stay perfectly on time.

    Ericka

    reviews
    0.5 out of 5
    Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • I did not have a good experience with Brideheads. When I first emailed Angie, she responded immediately, so I sent in the $150 deposit to reserve the date. Before signing the final contract, I emailed Angie to ask a few questions as well as asking to schedule my hair trial. A week went by, no response. I emailed again, no response. I waited a few more days, called and left a voicemail. I then received a text from Angie saying she was on a trip and would be getting back to emails the following Monday. Okay, fine...but then that Monday came and went, and I heard nothing. I waited until Thursday of that week and texted back asking when I could expect to hear from her. Still no response. So finally on the following Monday - which was now 3 weeks after I contacted her, and less than 3 weeks to go until my wedding! - I emailed to say I was cancelling services and booking elsewhere. Of course, she then responded immediately. But with no apology, and still no response to my original questions.... Read more

    Liza

    reviews
    3.6 out of 5
    Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • The Brideheads team was great the day of my wedding - my hair and makeup looked gorgeous - but they hadn't read the questionnaire they asked me to fill out where I had selected Yes next to the option to rent hair extensions through them. I thought it was weird they didn't follow up and ask for a photo of my hair to match extensions, but I assumed they would just bring a bunch and match me onsite. They showed up with no extensions. My bridesman and his boyfriend had to run to a beauty store to buy me some. Also, I tried multiple times to set up a trial in the months before the wedding (I had really limited options because I don't live in Wisconsin), and never got a response. I was told that they are bombarded with emails and need follow-ups. I don't think it's reasonable to just expect that people will email you twice because you can't manage your inbox. Seems like there are better ways to deal with that.

    responded with the following comments.

    I did suggest we try and line up a trial as soon as the deposit was in. We understand it's hard to schedule a trial when you live far away. It's also hard to us to schedule a trial when a bride has limited availability to do one. It's always a challenge to plan from out of state. Liza only wanted a trial on a specific day and time, and only gave me a weeks notice to schedule it. We were unable to accommodate that request however. Most of our contractors have other jobs during the week, so they are unable to just take off from their other job last minute to do a trial on a specific thursday morning last minute. I did try to find someone who was both able to do the trial and be available on wedding day as well. I also offered other options of doing the trial when she arrived in town, but she no longer wanted to even do a trial . Extension rental details are handled during trials. We dye them to match the week of the wedding. We would never bring every color available. An inventory like that would cost a fortune to just bring along and have on hand. We didn't receive any details about extensions and unfortunately we didn't bring any, but Hannah, Liza's amazing stylist made it work with the one the bridesman had run out to use. Sometimes as the wedding draws closer a bride gets so overwhelmed that details get neglected and things get disorganized. I worked with the wedding planner to ensure we had all the details of the hard to find location and ended up making everyone look just amazing.

    Jennifer

    reviews
    4.1 out of 5
    Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • Great stylist. My Only issue is i still havent gotten my deposit back. 2 weeks past my wedding, no response from vendor on when my $150 deposit will be returned

    Jen

    reviews
    4.8 out of 5
    Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • I worked with Angie at Brideheads for hair and makeup for me, my bridesmaids and the MOB and MOG. Angie and her crew came out to our suite at the Doubletree which was very convenient for us. We filled out a few questions ahead of our services - it was a bit tough for me to translate the photos my ‘maids shared with me to the options given on her questionnaire. We ended up with a few discrepancies but those were all worked out the day of. A nice bonus is that Angie and her team offer airbrush makeup application for no additional fee. I had my makeup done by a woman named Corinne - she did a wonderful job and was patient when i asked her to adjust my eye makeup a few times. A couple of my girls had to have their hair or makeup touched up by another woman (Dani maybe?) on the team because they didn’t love how their hair or makeup turned out. Overall, our hair stayed put all night and i felt like my makeup also stayed looking fresh. Some of the gals didn’t love how the photos they ... Read more

    Sarah

    reviews
    1.5 out of 5
    Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • I had a very poor experience working with Brideheads. I even had very low expectations going into the process. A friend had used them for her wedding and said they were "fine" - not the best, not very professional, but that they were "fine". I was getting married on Sunday of Memorial Day, and with a large number of bridesmaids, my options were fairly limited. I decided "fine" would be good enough - how bad could it be, right? - Scheduling a trial was a nightmare. Angela was not responsive and difficult to coordinate with. I ended up making a special trip up from Chicago to Madison the week before my wedding because that was the only time they could accommodate a trial in the months leading up to the wedding day. - The trial itself was a disaster. In the questionnaire I completed before the appointment, I had requested extensions. They were supposed to be ready and used as part of the trial - they were not. I asked for my hair to be half up and swept to the side - she starte... Read more

    Julie

    reviews
    2.2 out of 5
    Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • Angela is not quick to respond, not very professional. Beware of her, if you can handle her snarky comments and month turnaround time to respond then you are all set. The girls she contracts are AMAZING and do great work though, that is why the review is 2 sided.
    1 2 3

    Find Amazing Vendors
    render_sticky_availability_button