Find Local Wedding Vendors

Discover and connect with wedding vendors that share your taste and your budget. With trusted reviews, you can rest easy that your wedding day will be as beautiful as you envisioned.

Venues in Newton, NJ,
(973) 241-1001
Overall Rating
4.5 out of 5
Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • 44 Reviews


    Lynn G.

    reviews
    5 out of 5
    Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • Booking with bear brook valley is so easy! And staff is very flexible and helpful!

    responded with the following comments.

    Thank you so much Lynn for taking the time out to write such lovely review! We really do try to simplify the wedding planning process- there's no reason why it should be so hard! We look forward to working with you and Carter for your big day in March 2021! :)

    Alyssa C.

    reviews
    5 out of 5
    Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • We went for a visit and right away they poured us a glass of wine or beer. The grounds are beautiful, everything was explained thoroughly, and the presentation was exquisite. We booked right on the spot. After we booked they immediately got in touch with us and communication has been open ever since. I look forward to working with them

    responded with the following comments.

    Thank you so much Alyssa for sharing your experience with us! First impressions are everything! We look forward to working with you and Mathias for your big day- November 28th!!

    Kara Z.

    reviews
    5 out of 5
    Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • We booked our wedding with Rock Island Lake Club for 9/18/2020. Given COVID, our wedding reception was going to be held in a tented outdoor space, lakeside; however, the week of the wedding, the owners offered us an option to switch our reception to their sister location, Bear Brook Valley due to expected low temperatures on our wedding day and being in an outdoor space. They explained how Bear Brook Valley was newly renovated to allow indoor/outdoor access throughout the reception space and increased comfort for our wedding guests. We were initially wary of changing the location of our venue the week-of (due to logistics and fear of guests declining to attend since the reception would no longer be fully outdoors), but we were also concerned about how a tented reception outdoors could be chilly for our guests if we kept the reception as planned. Ultimately, we decided to take the owners up on their offer to switch to the renovated space at Bear Brook as we were assured this would be a ... Read more

    Michelle D.

    reviews
    5 out of 5
    Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • Our wedding at Bear Brook Valley was a dream come true. The beauty of the venue speaks for itself, but the staff truly go above and beyond to make your day special. Leading up to our wedding day, every phone call and email was answered promptly and thoroughly which put us at ease knowing we were in good hands. My husband and I didn't have to worry about a thing on the day of the wedding or even the day after since the staff packed up all of our items and decor. The entire day was unbelievably organized and everything ran according to plan. Juana, our Maître D', was absolutely incredible, and we are so thankful for her. She hyped us up, kept the drinks flowing, and was ready and willing to help with anything we needed. Bear Brook Valley's rustic chic vibe, delicious food, stunning grounds, and spacious getting ready suites made it our dream venue. We really couldn't have asked for more, and we hope to attend a wedding here as guests one day!

    Ana V.

    reviews
    5 out of 5
    Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • The staff was great!! Everyone made sure the guests were content, staff was always after me making sure i was eating and staying hydrated.. have no bad things to say!! I keep going around telling family and friends to get married there so i can relive the night 😂

    Anderson F.

    reviews
    5 out of 5
    Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • I am a professional florist (ANDERSON FLOWERS, METUCHEN, NJ) and I just did my first wedding at Bear Brook Valley - and the people there are so nice to work with. And - That surely translates into a great experience for the Bride, Groom, Their Families and Friends. Look forward to being back there

    responded with the following comments.

    Thank you so much for the kind words!! It was such a pleasure working with you guys- we hope to see you back here soon!

    Christine

    reviews
    5 out of 5
    Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • My husband and I could not be more thrilled with the decision to get married at Bear Brook Valley. Initially we were supposed to get married at their sister venue but due to the pandemic we had to postpone and have a micro-wedding at a much later date. The staff offered us the option to hold our wedding at Bear Brook and we accepted. It was the BEST choice we ever made. The staff was fantastic. They were so attentive. They made us feel safe, secure and so comfortable. Our guests are still raving about the food, picturesque grounds and stunning interior. The staff at Rock Island and Bear Brook are second to none. They go above and beyond to help you even when in a pinch. Our wedding day was everything we dreamed even in these uncertain circumstances because of Bear Brook!

    Mel C.

    reviews
    5 out of 5
    Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • I don't think Bear Brook Valley needs any more 5 star reviews, but here goes. This is hands down the most amazing place you could imagine to have your wedding. It is absolutely stunning! The attention to detail to making this place exclusively a wedding venue is extraordinary. Not a single square inch of the venue is wasted; it was designed to host a wedding from start to finish. Planning with them was so simple! You have your one point of contact the entire time and they handle everything. No worries about rentals, overwhelming options, and hiring multiple different companies. Bear Brook is your venue, caterer, bartender, rental supply, cake supplier (included in contract price but you order at provided bakery), set up and tear down crew, and even day of coordinator! The amount that you are saving by having BBV provide all of this for you is priceless! Like, do you know how much an independent day of coordinator costs? Oh, and their prices are inclusive of sales tax and they don't cha... Read more

    Jaimie

    reviews
    5 out of 5
    Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • My fiancé and I looked at about 10 places when we decided to visit Bear Brook. As soon as we walked onto the property we knew we loved the venue. Then meeting all of the staff, seeing the bridal and groomsmen suites, and the gorgeous rustic romantic decor sold us. Our wedding coordinator made everything idiot-proof for us: reminding us about payments, timelines for vendors, etc. We recently had our wedding there and people have not stopped complimenting us about their experience at Bear Brook. They loved the food, the staff, and the overall ambiance of the place. We are so thrilled with how our wedding turned out, thanks to Bear Brook!

    responded with the following comments.

    Jaimie & Nick- Congratulations again!! Thank you so much for taking the time out to share your experience with us! We are so glad we were able to bring your wedding vision to life! The lavender candles as a favor was an adorable touch and the McDonald's at the end of the night was such a hit! Please come back and visit us as a guest soon! Best wishes :)

    Samantha

    reviews
    1.2 out of 5
    Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • absolutely stay away from this place. I’ll keep this short and sweet, the venue is run poorly and understaffed and it shows. As a bride I never felt they were there to make my day less stressful and they never went “ above and beyond” it’s more like bare minimum. The amount this venue costs you would think they would be attentive but they were the opposite of that and almost avoided me all night because of the things going wrong at the venue. I could go on and on about specific details and things that were just absurdly horrible but really how I was treated is why I’m writing this. As a bride to help out anyone into making this huge decision to trust a venue and to feel special your day PLEASE don’t go here they are after the money and to crank out weddings, not here to make your day memorable.

    Sarah

    reviews
    1.2 out of 5
    Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • This venue does not care about it's clients, especially during this covid 19 pandemic. Their only focus is their bottom line. They are not accomdating or flexible with the postponement/ cancellations of upcoming wedding that are a direct result of government regulations and uncertainty due to the pandemic.

    responded with the following comments.

    Hi Sarah, I’m so sorry to hear you are displeased with how we’re handling business during these uncertain times. We are trying the best we can to reschedule the weddings affected by COVID-19 with the information we’re given from the state. We are limited to available dates since we do host only one wedding per day. Once a date is booked, we cannot offer that as an available option to someone else. We are trying to keep the best interest in mind of everyone involved while also considering the future of the company. I assure you our team is extremely empathetic to the situation. We genuinely love our couples and wish we had more control over the situation. Unfortunately, this all hit us out of nowhere, and we're doing the best that we can given these unfortunate circumstances. We genuinely appreciate everyone's feedback and are taking everything into consideration with each decision we make. No matter what happens we are going to make sure that every wedding held here is amazing, and we can’t wait to be back to celebrating with you all. The Bear Brook Team

    Robert M.

    reviews
    2.4 out of 5
    Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • This place has very poor business practices. I'll start with the good- We chose this venue because it is gorgeous inside and out. The staff the day of the wedding was great. The food choices, drink pairings, and bar were fantastic. The food is good, not great, but the options and display make up for this in value. The bad- From day 1 I felt lied to. During the initial tour they promise you so many thigs that just aren't true, such as "48 beers on tap" and you can "choose your favorite beer". This was later deemed false. They also implied we could utilize a golf cart on site- again, this was false as we had to inquire numerous times the day of our wedding until finally someone brought it out for us yet didn't even let us drive it. The list goes on...The handling of the COVID-19 situation was most disappointing. We were pressured into choosing a postponement date within 24 hours (not enough time to check with all vendors), and were only given the option of weekdays in the winter despite ... Read more

    responded with the following comments.

    We’re very sorry to hear your expectations were not met. Due to COVID-19, there have been certain limitations placed on our business, and our team has been working tirelessly to adapt to these changes. With that said, we appreciate any feedback as we want to deliver an exceptional wedding experience, under any circumstances. Our biggest hardship throughout COVID-19 has been seeing our couples whose weddings are affected have to face such difficult decisions, while having to consider what is best for the business. In providing postponement options due to the pandemic, we have gone in date order and provided each couple an independent window of time to choose from the list of open available date options. Since we do only one wedding per day, we have to be very cognizant to not double book any dates which is why we provided each couples options one at a time. With every couple understandably being very eager for their turn, we choose to go with a 24 hour window of time. This was not at all to be of inconvenience or to be burdensome, but to give every couple options in as reasonable amount of time as we possibly could while of course not double-booking any dates. In the summer months, we did offer the option to everyone scheduled to move forward with a tented wedding vs. postponing. Tented weddings are not a service we typically provide, but we sincerely wanted to do everything we could to give everyone as many legally compliant options as possible to have their wedding. We did our best to work with all couples and their minimums while not charging for the tent, so we apologize if the discount seemed insufficient. Since we include an open bar for every wedding, the option to choose a specific beer that’s not on tap is and always has been an upgrade option. Between our two bars we have 48 draft beer lines (32 downstairs & 16 upstairs) and about 28 different beers, however due to the indoor restrictions and functionality of the tented weddings not all beers may have been accessible but we have been doing our best to still provide a substantial variety. In regards to the golf cart, our team should have absolutely had it readily available for you to use for photos so we apologize if you had to inquire about it more than once. Because of safety and liability reasons, only staff members should drive our company vehicles to include our golf carts. We apologize if that was not communicated. We are unable to move certain furniture to include the pianos and pool table because those are maintained and put in place by outside professionals, again we sincerely apologize if that was not properly relayed. All of our upgrade options are unique to our venue and require a different level of equipment, man power and service to carry out. We did decide to include up lighting with the selection of a late night station in our 2020 package. Interchanging an upgrade that is not being paid for to pick something else is not an option we provide. We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy the Lounge package experience and we will most certainly take that into consideration and address as it is one of our more popular services. We want you to know none of our decisions throughout this pandemic have been made carelessly. There are various factors that go into our business decisions, some that are in our control and some that are out of our control. Although this may not have been the wedding you had originally envisioned, we are happy we were able to execute it during these uncertain times. We hope you and your loved ones are able to look back onto your wedding with fond memories. We wish you the best as newlyweds and a safe year to you and your families.

    Sade

    reviews
    1 out of 5
    Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • I am writing this review to alert people of the unethically business practices of the Bear Brook Valley Wedding venue in Newton, NJ. They are callous and only care about their bottom line. They are unaccommodating and not flexible in anyway shape or form. They don't care about clients. This is by far the worst experience I've had with a vendor. When awareness of the pandemic first became prominent, I reached out to my contact at the venue Heather Truesdale in March, to ask about what their procedures were on handling upcoming events during these unprecedented times. My concerns were dismissed due to my wedding being in July, with no consideration for the other facets that goes into executing an event of this magnitude (sending out invitations, dress fittings, food tasting, other vendors, etc). Hi reached out to the venue again in April after they began "rebooking" March and April dates. I was told as of right now they were only rebooking through May. I reached out again in April expres... Read more

    responded with the following comments.

    Hi Sade, We are very sorry to hear of your displeasure with how we are working with couples whose weddings are directly affected by the COVID-19 pandemic. This has been a very difficult time for everyone so we are trying our absolute best to address everyone’s concerns. At this time, the state and CDC are issuing all operational guidelines and directions for our business to comply with. We are doing everything in our power to abide by those guidelines, but just like you, we are waiting to be told how we can proceed. This does lead to many open ended questions that we are unable to give more definitive answers to. We empathize and completely understand how frustrating this is, but we are limited to giving responses based off of the available information. We have remained transparent to you and all Bear Brook Valley Couples through the 6 update emails we have sent to everyone over the last month and a half. Each update detailed how, due to the sensitive nature of those impacted, we have chosen to give our couples the option to reschedule in date order. At this time, we are giving all weddings in July of this year the option to place a tentative date on hold or reschedule to a new date. Out of courtesy for all couples waiting next, we have given each couple throughout this entire process 24 hours to look through the list of available dates and update us on how they would like to proceed. We cannot allow other couples to reschedule until it is their turn. Out of fairness to everyone impacted, we cannot make exceptions to the rescheduling procedure we have in place. Since we are a small seasonal business and so many events have been affected we cannot afford to exceed the discount options being offered at this time. We still do not know when this hardship will be behind us and it is paramount that treat everyone with the same respect. Cancellation requests are being handled transparently for all. We are abiding by the terms of our contract and our legal team is advising on those stipulated terms as well. We genuinely appreciate everyone's feedback and are taking everything into consideration with each decision we make.

    Marissa R.

    reviews
    3.6 out of 5
    Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • The lead up to the wedding was a disaster. The wedding day performance was a 5/5. My situation was very different given the fact that my wedding had to be postponed to a later date because of the COVID-19 Pandemic. The communication from Bear Brook leading up to the wedding day was very poor. I had to change my date from a Friday in May to a Thursday in November. The prices stayed the same and no one honored a Thursday night price. I had 3 wedding coordinators since the day I booked which was back in 2018. This made the communication so much more challenging. My husband and I were very understanding through the process as we know they are a business trying to make their money but at the same time Bear Brook Valley had 95% of our money when we had to postpone our wedding back in March. It felt like we were just another check and money being deposited and didn't feel that they were just as understanding as us. I thought they could've been more accommodating during the process, b... Read more

    Joann J.

    reviews
    3.8 out of 5
    Quality of Service:
  • Responsiveness:
  • Professionalism:
  • Value for Cost:
  • Flexibility:
  • My son’s wedding last Saturday was absolutely magical. Everything was just perfect but had one flaw. The dinner was terrible. I had the salmon which was so dry, I could not swallow it. Spinach was swimming in salt and sweet potatoes was raw. My husband had the lamb. It was overdone and dried out. Our entire two tables were totally unhappy with their meals. The cocktail hour food was delicious and plentiful. I have never seen a spread so large and diversified. It really made up fir the awful dinner.
    1 2 3

    Find Amazing Vendors
    render_sticky_availability_button